Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news

Author Topic: Swapping old Panasonic chassis with Sony Wega Chassis?  (Read 377 times)

vrada501

• (0)
  • Offline Offline
  • Seeking to outlive my noobishness
Swapping old Panasonic chassis with Sony Wega Chassis?
« on: May 04, 2016, 06:26:35 pm »
I'm still a little new to working with CRT's, all I've ever done was discharge an arcade monitor and take off the back plastic of CRT TV's.

I have a Sony Wega kv-32fs320 which is flat screen and has component that I use with my CRT_Emudriver set up
I also have an old 1999 curved screen Panasonic ct-27624a that I absolutely loved playing retro games on because of how beautiful they looked on it to me on that curved screen. I also really loved it's speakers.
While the Sony TV is great, it's flat screen doesn't provide me with what I loved on the Curved, even if it does support RGB/Component.

I would much rather use the Panasonic tv with this set up, but sadly it doesn't have component. Just AV, S-Video, and RF.
So the thought that's been bugging me is the possibility of just uninstalling the chassis from the Sony tv's tube, and replacing the Panasonic's chassis from it. That way I could use the Sony's Component input, on the Panasonic's curved screen and therefor be able to use my set up with it.

So I was just curious if this would be possible and safe? Again, I'm new to this. When swapping tubes and stuff, how do you know the tube and the chassis will work fine together?