Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual  (Read 435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« on: June 21, 2016, 12:49:08 pm »
I found some infos already....
but i would like to know if what i found to be good or bad infos.

My Antarex is showing image but its wider then it supose to be. around 1" left and right.
we tryed with the horizontal width control.. but we were careless and broke the top of the head...

i tryed to find replacement but there dont seem to have any no where...
BUT someone as pointed out,

in parallel with the horizontal output transistor (between the collector and emitter) there is a capacitor called the "retrace tuning capacitor." A typical value for this capacitor is between 5,000 picofarads and 10,000 picofarads at 1,500 volts. Note that's picofarads, not microfarads.To alter the width of the raster, all you have to do is change the value of this capacitor. A ten percent change in capacitor value will produce a proportional change in the width of the picture. Larger values will make the picture wider: Smaller values will reduce the width.


someone tryed that ? and if yes could i request a little help to get the right one so i can change it. thank you everyone that might reply :)
too much games...not enough room...

lilshawn

  • (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5159
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2016, 02:39:22 pm »
how can one not find a replacement pot? they've literally made them for the last 100 years in one form or another.

replace the pot. don't try and tune your width with changing caps around.

while not completely bad information (as this is sometimes done on tube/yoke swaps) you basically get a cap value CLOSE to where you need it, that have a horizontal width adjustment to fine tune the width where you need it.

usually width issues stem from a bipolar electolytic capacitor in the 1 to 10 uf range getting weak causing the raster scan lenth to increase. (smaller values here mean longer scan time.)

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2016, 04:18:08 pm »
how can one not find a replacement pot? they've literally made them for the last 100 years in one form or another.

replace the pot. don't try and tune your width with changing caps around.

while not completely bad information (as this is sometimes done on tube/yoke swaps) you basically get a cap value CLOSE to where you need it, that have a horizontal width adjustment to fine tune the width where you need it.

usually width issues stem from a bipolar electolytic capacitor in the 1 to 10 uf range getting weak causing the raster scan lenth to increase. (smaller values here mean longer scan time.)

Ah well thank you Lilshawn :)
i was mainly looking into arcade online stores for that specific piece but always end up finding the ones not for hantarex Polo...
unless you meant that any pot will works ?

or if there's a store selling one right now and you dont mind pointing it for me :)
too much games...not enough room...

lilshawn

  • (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5159
  • I break stuff...then fix it...sometimes
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #3 on: June 21, 2016, 05:36:53 pm »
it doesn't have to spbe specifically for that exact monitor.

the pot should have a marking on it someplace that denotes its value. either on the plastic nub or printed on the body someplace.

for instance if it's marked 501, it's a 500 ohm resistor variable from 0 to 500 ohms.

a 503 is a 50,000 ohm resistor variable from 0 to 50,000 ohms.

a 141 is 140 ohm pot

and so on.

so you just match the value and get a replacement.

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5503
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2016, 05:12:18 am »
sounds like you tried adjusting the width coil,not sure why when there is a horizontal size pot on the remote

if your remote h size pot did not give you enough adjustment then the fault could be in width circuit itself or the b+ could be too high

a photo of which pot/coil you adjusted would help

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #5 on: June 22, 2016, 06:16:26 am »
a photo of which pot/coil you adjusted would help

Its not an actual picture of mine but here's the evil width coil
too much games...not enough room...

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5503
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #6 on: June 22, 2016, 05:09:45 pm »
yeah thats the width coil but there is a horizontal size pot on the remote board that should give about 12 inches of adjustment

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #7 on: June 22, 2016, 10:24:34 pm »
yeah thats the width coil but there is a horizontal size pot on the remote board that should give about 12 inches of adjustment

really ?
i checked them all if remember right. one of them move the screen completely..
but it dont make it shrink to fit the whole screen.
too much games...not enough room...

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5503
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #8 on: June 22, 2016, 10:28:45 pm »
yes they have this pot,marked as h.amp
unless you have the only polo chassis ever made without this pot

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2016, 10:59:28 pm »
yes they have this pot,marked as h.amp
unless you have the only polo chassis ever made without this pot

Totally missed that one O_o;

but ...turning it from one side to another dont do anything to the screen
could it be busted ?
« Last Edit: June 22, 2016, 11:03:22 pm by Escarioth »
too much games...not enough room...

grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5503
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #10 on: June 22, 2016, 11:56:10 pm »
so that fault has always been there,someone has changed the pot already thinking it would fix the issue
the fault could be T118 or T117
the h width coil being set to max or min can also affect function of h.amp pot as can the east/west diodes

i would lean towards t118 which should be a bdx53c being your fault though-its clipped on the heatshield next to the vertical deflection ic tda1675

Escarioth

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20
  • too much games...not enough room...
Re: Hantarex Polo 25" wider then usual
« Reply #11 on: June 23, 2016, 12:01:32 am »
so that fault has always been there,someone has changed the pot already thinking it would fix the issue
the fault could be T118 or T117
the h width coil being set to max or min can also affect function of h.amp pot as can the east/west diodes

i would lean towards t118 which should be a bdx53c being your fault though-its clipped on the heatshield next to the vertical deflection ic tda1675

ill try running some test tomorrow or this week end :) ill be back with good or bad news :D
thank you very much, any help is welcome
too much games...not enough room...

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31