Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.  (Read 320 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wolfievtec

  • (0)
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
I am new to these emulators, I am using 2 AIM-Trak Light Guns with a MAME emulator (Atomic Studio, Video-PAC)   I have set everything up following the directions and everything works great until I reboot the computer. Then my gun assignment is somehow reset and I have to go into each game and change the gun assignment.

Example: The guns are assigned Device 1 & Device 2 in the AIM-TRAK Utility. The games show gun 2 & 3. Thatís ok and I can configure it but if I reboot the PC, in the guns are now 3 & 4. Then I have to go through each game and reconfigure each game to work with the new gun number.... Any thoughts? Thanks!

argonlefou

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 121
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2016, 09:54:39 am »
Yes that's normal (unfortunatelly !)
You have a software exactly for that : http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,108767.0.html
And here a GUI for it : http://forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php/topic,145636.0.html

dgrace

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2016, 02:17:45 am »
This is awesome.  I have the same problem.  It seems I always have to remap both aimtrak guns (player 1 and 2) every time I want to play light gun games in MAME in 2 player dual mode.  Does this program really work? Is there a tutorial on how to set it up? Is it pretty simple?  Thanks

argonlefou

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 121
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2016, 03:58:30 am »
There is a 15mn full setup-guide-video on the 2nd link

Ginsonic

  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Arcade enthusiast !
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #4 on: July 13, 2016, 06:32:21 am »
This is awesome.  I have the same problem.  It seems I always have to remap both aimtrak guns (player 1 and 2) every time I want to play light gun games in MAME in 2 player dual mode.  Does this program really work? Is there a tutorial on how to set it up? Is it pretty simple?  Thanks

It works great, but IMO it is not simple at all. Unfortunately it has a steep learning curve, but it pays off investing some time !

stigzler

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 656
  • It seemed like a good idea at the time....
    • Mago 20.13
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2016, 05:15:37 pm »
You could always hand-configure the xml files yourself and see if that makes it simpler...

 :laugh2:

Only j'king! Glad it helped.

Sorn

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 48
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: Aim-Trak Guns losing assignment in Mame Menus after reboot.
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2016, 01:20:37 pm »
I believe the reason this happens is because the way windows assigns ID's to usb emulated devices is funky. So if you are unplugging and replugging any usb devices it can screw with the USB id's and then mame freaks out and defaults the list or blanks it.

What i do to overcome this is to never, ever unplug anything, and then once I setup my guns/controllers I make the default.cfg read-only. You can do the same to the individual .cfg files that are generated for the games, if you have specific this-game-only controller configs. So for example I play point blank the most, so I can right click ptblank.cfg and make it read only and then nothing can change that controller config. You'll have to uncheck read only in properties to get mame to be able to edit it again though if your ID's change and you need to remap!

I've used the program above, but frankly im not sure if it works or not. Something to do with directinput vs rawinput (i think?), so it depends on the device type whether or not it is able to actually map them correctly on boot.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31