Main Restorations Software Audio/Jukebox/MP3 Everything Else Buy/Sell/Trade
Project Announcements Monitor/Video GroovyMAME Merit/JVL Touchscreen Meet Up Retail Vendors
Driving & Racing Woodworking Software Support Forums Consoles Project Arcade Reviews
Automated Projects Artwork Frontend Support Forums Pinball Forum Discussion Old Boards
Raspberry Pi & Dev Board controls.dat Linux Miscellaneous Arcade Wiki Discussion Old Archives
Site News

Unread posts | New Replies | Recent posts | Rules | Chatroom | Wiki | File Repository | RSS | Submit news


  

Author Topic: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing  (Read 171 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

hypergaming

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« on: July 30, 2016, 11:57:49 pm »
Hi everyone,

I just got this ms. pac man dedicated cabinet, the game works but but nothing shows on the monitor. I can hear the sound of the game but no picture on the monitor. The monitor model is G07-CBO

I checked all fuses, and they're all good. I also tried with new fuses but still no picture. Can someone tell me what else to check and how to see if it still good  or need to be replaced?

thank you everyone!! :)

images attached

big10p

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 437
  • Mmmm, arcade classics!
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2016, 07:28:26 am »
Most likely the tube will be fine but you have a chassis fault. Do you get any neck glow or does the screen illuminate at all?

hypergaming

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2016, 12:49:04 pm »
Just gave it another try, No neck glow or image at all on the screen. The only thing that lights up is the marquee. when I press buttons, I hear the game sounds so speaker and game is ok.

thank you for your help, I'm surprise no one else has replied to such common and popular type of cabinet issue.


grantspain

  • I personally prefer "bog trotter"
  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5503
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2016, 02:24:07 pm »
first use meter to read ac input to chassis-should be 120vac via iso
next check both chassis fuses
most likely it either caps,flyback,bad solder joint,horizontal out transistor or regulation circuit-or all of them

behrmr

  • (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 241
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #4 on: July 31, 2016, 11:05:58 pm »
first use meter to read ac input to chassis-should be 120vac via iso
next check both chassis fuses
most likely it either caps,flyback,bad solder joint,horizontal out transistor or regulation circuit-or all of them

Be careful when checking the fuse F902 on the monitor chassis.  If that fuse is blown the filter cap holds a nasty charge and will ruin your day if it bites you.

hypergaming

  • (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 81
  • I want to build my own arcade controls!
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #5 on: July 31, 2016, 11:10:01 pm »
Thanks to everyone for your help, I will check on all of this tomorrow and post an update.

thanks again.

ed12

  • (-1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3296
  • it is what it is..."Nobody Said It Was Easy"....
Re: ms. pac man Monitor model G07 - CBO, help repairing
« Reply #6 on: July 31, 2016, 11:21:40 pm »
ok
I have been watching this..much to your where are u guys thing
what grantspain said is right to a certain point...
proper way to chk fuses
UN_PLUG power to unit
meter in  >if DIGITAL< is to go to diode range. if u get a constant beep ?
then fuse is 99% ok (u are reading the fuse on both ends only
if a ANALOG meter?
go to lowest OHMS range, short your probes and make sure u are at ZERO, then chk fuse's
if they both read zero ? u can be 99% sure they are ok.
that is the proper way to do it WITH OUT WORRY ABOUT SHOCK FROM LINE VOLTAGE.

there is 2 fuses in any g07 
1=main in to full unit
1=reg b+ to flyback

u did a cap kit on this unit as u stated ?
did u change the flyback at the same time ?
if not your list is easy
1=flyback
1=horz output
1=fuse
that is the short list
if the req is shorted ?
the list just got longer

ed
Shipping something from the U.S. to Canada for repair/exchange?  Please use USPS to avoid (additional?/excessive?) shipping charges.  PM me if you have any questions.

  
 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31